“Only an ebook”

Here’s a strange thing. A very kind friend shared my crowdfunding page on Twitter and someone responded, saying it was “a shame it’s only an ebook” and they would have pledged if it were a print edition. Just in case there are others thinking along the same lines, I thought I should address this.

I will concede, I used to think ebooks didn’t carry as much prestige as printed books. I suppose it’s partly my age – I grew up on the cusp of the non-digital age and the absolutely-everything-online age – and partly my background as an English lit student; I still have a special place in my heart for libraries. But I’ve since changed my mind. For example, I’m now reading the absolutely superlative The Sea Hates a Coward, by Nate Crowley, on my iPhone. Husband doesn’t go on holiday without the iPad so he can use the iBooks app. My parents, who are in their sixties, adore their Kindle Fire.

We’re no longer living in a world where ebooks are weird, niche things, solely the domain of people who couldn’t get a “real” publishing deal. They are now pretty much mainstream, and in cases like mine, they are a way for debut novelists to get a foot on the publishing ladder. It’s increasingly difficult to get a “traditional” publishing deal these days. Unsolicited manuscripts are either ignored or take weeks or even months to be read. Lots of publishers and agents won’t take you if you don’t have an established presence. This is a way to overcome those hurdles and, if the book does well, it could in fact get a print run somewhere down the line!

It’s not a case of a lack of access anymore, either. If you don’t have a Kindle or other e-reader, like Kobo, I bet you have a smartphone and I bet your smartphone has an ebook app. Even if you don’t have a smart phone, I bet you have a computer and I bet that computer is capable of supporting similar ebook software.

In summary, don’t let the fact that it’s an ebook put you off! It’s still a book, still the same quality of writing and editing as you’d find on paper, still the same amount of work and passion, and, in my humble opinion, well worth pledging for. And of course, here’s that link again:

https://unbound.co.uk/books/abernathy

About seenitheardit

Music, film, arts and entertainment blog. As opinionated as they come and proud.
This entry was posted in Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

